On “hornline”

I thought I would explain where ‘hornline’ came from.

When I first started at the University of Washington, I had to create an ID for my school email. I sat down at the terminal in the library and started trying IDs. Of course all of the possibilities related to my first name were gone, and my last name was longer than the eight-character limit, so I decided to go phonetic. I thought it would help people figure out how to pronounce my name, which looks more complicated than it is pronounced. Instead, it just really confused people about how to spell my last name.

But the band geekiness of the ID totally made up for the years of my name being misspelled. In high school, I was in marching band. Now let me explain for you non-band geeks (if you are a band geek, you already get it). In marching band, you have the drumline, the flagline, and the hornline. The hornline is all of the wind instruments like trumpets (the trumpet line) and clarinets (clarinet line). My main band instrument in high school was the (French) horn. Tangent: French horns are really just called “horns” by those in the know because horns have nothing to do with France, so if someone says that they play the horn, they mean the French horn.

In marching band, the horn players play mellophones because playing a horn on the field just doesn’t work. (The bell of a horn faces backwards, which works fine when you are indoors. But outside, the sounds just drifts away. A mellophone is an F horn that looks like a big trumpet, which means that the bell faces forward and so its hella loud.) So anyway, us mellophone players, since we played the F horn parts, were the hornline in the hornline.

And so, of course, I was the hornline in the hornline in the hornline! hahahaha! Band geek humor at its finest.

Why I still feel like I am in the hornline in a later post.

One response to “On “hornline”

  1. Google is the best search engine

Leave a Reply

