Thunder

For my 21st birthay, my ex-bartender brother gave me The Bartender's Standard Manual from the 70s. While it is lacking some of the trendier drinks such as the cosmopolitan, it does have the classics, such as the Thunder:

2 jiggers Brandy
1 Teaspon sugar
1 egg yolk
1 pinch Cayenne pepper

Shack well with ice and strain.

Any drink is better with an egg yolk or pepper. Yum! 

A lot of the recipes call for things that I have never heard of, so I don't even know if they are gross or not (but my money is on not). For example, I have no idea what lillet, benedictine, pernod, Swedish punch, creme de noya, and kummel are. And I don't think that I want to know.

Leave a Reply

