So out of touch

I feel like such an out-of-touch American right now. Three days after the fact, I just read that there was an earthquake in Indonesia that killed close to 6,000 people and left over 200,000 people homeless.

The earthquake happened on the weekend, when I was out and about in San Francisco and sailing, so I wasn't looking at Topix.net or anything, but still. You would think I that I would have heard about it on the news while driving in my car, while skimming MyYahoo, or while talking with people. No one mentioned it on the sailing trip and no one mentioned it at work. I found out about it because I saw a headline on IBM's intranet homepage for an article about IBM employees there (they are all accounted for).

This also reminds me that I still haven't done so much of my earthquake preparedness. I could probably find a flashlight and a few bottles of water, but that's about it.

You can make a donation to help with relief efforts through the Red Cross/Red Crescent.

Leave a Reply

