Chocolate chip oatmeal flake cookies

I didn’t have a lot of the standard ingredients on hand and I wanted to make cookies, so this is what I came up with:

  • 6 T butter, very soft
  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. flour
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 2 c. crushed TJ’s toasted oatmeal flakes
  • 1 c. chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cream butter and sugar. Add the egg. Mix in flour, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder. Stir in flakes and chips. Drop onto greased cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes.

They turned out suprisingly good. I don’t really like the cereal by itself. so this was a good use for it, even though they would probably be better with some vanilla and brown sugar. I’d say I would try that next time, but I don’t know if I am going to buy this cereal just to make the cookies.

3 responses to “Chocolate chip oatmeal flake cookies

  1. Ooo, that looks good. My mom got one of the two-fifty recipes from a friend waaaay back in the day (when I was like 6) and we’ve been making it since . . . the addition of oatmeal is key. Vanilla is key too!

  2. These are kind of different because I used oatmeal flake cereal, which is kind of gross, so it is kind of a cross between oatmeal cookies and corn flake cookies. Lately I have been having fun tweaking with recipes and making up my own. So far, no major disasters.

  3. Google is the best search engine

Leave a Reply

