Fresh veggie cooking

Summer is great. I got my second box of fresh organic veggies on Thursday. In this month’s box:

  • Basil
  • Green beans
  • Summer squash
  • Broccoli raab
  • Carrots
  • White corn
  • Lemon cucumber
  • Cantalope
  • Apricots
  • Chard
  • Rosemary

I found some recipes online and invited some veggie-friendly friends over for dinner Friday night. Here’s what was on the menu (sorry, no pictures):

Tomato-Basil Bruschetta
Hot-Sweet Salad of Broccoli Raab and Carrots
Curried Grains and Apple Salad
2001 Napa Valley Atalon Cabernet Sauvignon

The broccoli raab and carrot salad was pretty good, but the veggies needed a little bit more cooking time that the recipe indicates. Maybe I just have a weak microwave. The curried salad was really yummy. It is full of all sorts of vegetables (cucumber, green beans, and corn from the box), and the non-fat yogurt makes the dressing super healthy. It is one of those recipes I never would have made if I didn’t have cucumbers I didn’t know what to do with. I think I’ll keep this recipe on hand to make with whatever combination of vegetables that I have on hand.

On Saturday, since I had some leftover sourdough, I made some French toast for breakfast and a basil, tomato, and cheese sandwich for lunch, along with the cantalope. (Did you know that it isn’t really cantelope? It is musk melon and you can’t get real cantelope in the US. It’s kind of like the whole yam vs. sweet potato thing.) I also made waffles, but that is beside the point. I just love cooking breakfast food.

Tonight I think I am going to grill the summer squash and saute the chard. Maybe cook up some quinoa…who knows? You just don’t know what crazy thing I might do next! Watch out!

2 responses to “Fresh veggie cooking

  1. Pingback: Food Fight

  2. This is great stuff. But you know what else you can cook right on your stove? Home made beer!

Leave a Reply

