Transition to Teaching

IBM has a program called Transition to Teaching that helps employees go back to school to become high school teachers, but that’s not what I am talking about. That’s just why I thought of the title of this post.

I have been feeling pretty uninspired at my pottery class for a while now. I go mostly for the social aspect of it, and even that isn’t worth it these days since the Monday class has been overrun by high schoolers for the summer. So tonight I talked about it with my teacher, and I think we have come up with a plan. I am going to take off the rest of the summer to focus on some of the other things I have going on, and to explore other Bay Area ceramics activities. Then later this fall, I’ll return to class. My teacher will give me assignments, etc. to really focus me and take my skills to the next level. We also talked about me being her teaching assistant so that I can start being groomed for teaching my own class. I think teaching would be fun and something to re-engergize me.

Also, I am going to start training to be an aerobics instructor. I have passed the ‘audition’ of sorts at a step class last week, and so now I need to start working with my current teacher to put together routines and practice. Then in a few months I’ll do the formal training. I am not too thrilled about working for 24-Hour Fitness since I have heard stories, but I think it is a good opportunity to learn.

One response to “Transition to Teaching

  1. Hopefully, you’ll get paid and you won’t ever have to call a customer service line and stay on hold for an hour to get changes made to your address or set up direct deposit or sign medical waivers and such. The 24 hour fitness CRM and, their corporate infrastructure, in my experience, was not built to scale!

Leave a Reply

