GRE results

I took the GRE this afternoon. Did I study? No. Did I get lots of sleep last night? No. Did I do any preparation whatsoever? No, unless you count going up to San Francisco last night and crashing into bed around 3AM. So how was it?

The written part was really easy. I had so much time on my hands that I felt I could really revise and reorganize and come up with something good. The verbal part was frustratingly hard. I was upset that there were words I didn’t know. The math part was too long and I had to scramble to finish. I mean really hussle. It was bad. I was pretty frustrated with myself, and I think if I practiced a bit, I could do a lot better. I felt like I was wasting too much time on the simple arithmatic, and on reading the directions to figure out what i was supposed to do.

The nice part is that you get your score right away for two parts:

Verbal: 710
Quatitative: 730
Combined: 1440

Acceptable, especially since I think I did more than OK on the written part. I’ll have to wait a few weeks for that, but I am assuming I got around a 5, and hopefully a 6. I checked out the average scores for different programs that I am interested in, and these scores are above the averages. But I would have really liked to have broken 1500. Ah, well. Next time.

5 responses to “GRE results

  1. Pingback: As if I don’t have enough time for blogging as it is « Life in the hornline

  2. Update: writing score: 5.5! Horray!

  3. If you are applying this year The following website is very useful to manage the online application http://applycorner.com

  4. Nice 710 V without studying and all. I got 800 Q, 560 V, and 5/6. I did study for a few months.

  5. One more thing: I don’t think it’s a good idea to aim for cumulative scores because the percentile ranking of the Q and V sections is so different.

Leave a Reply

