Best blondies ever

I made the blondies recipe from Cook’s Illustrated for the second time ever tonight. They were for a MoveOn.org dessert party to kick of the 2006 election season. Someone left his card by the tray of them asking me to email the recipe. I checked online, and it is only available to paid members of the Cook’s Illustrated web site. Since I am going to go to the effort to type up the recipe, I thought I would post it here for you all to enjoy as well.

So that the good folks at Cook’s don’t get too mad at me for publishing a recipe, I am going to say that this is my slightly tweaked version of their recipe, and that I highly recommend getting a subscription to the bimonthly magazine. It is fabulous. Everything that I have made from the magazine has turned out wonderfully, and I am always entertained by the article format and sciencey explanations that accompany the recipes. Plus my entire kitchen is outfitted with equipment based on their reviews.

This recipe makes gooey, sweet, buttery, almost caramel-tasting bars. I never bothered with blondies before because why would you make them when there were brownies in the world? But then I realized that they are everything that is wonderful about chocolate chip bar cookies, times a million! Don’t bother with the bar cookies. Make these instead. They are easier to make than chocolate chip cookies or brownies, and you don’t even need a mixer or have to wait for the butter to soften. If you want them to be exactly like mine, buy all of your (preferably organic) ingredients from Trader Joe’s.

blondiesBest blondies ever

1 c. chopped pecans
1/2 c. unsweetened coconut
12 T. unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 c. brown sugar
2 large eggs, beaten
4 t. vanilla extract
1 c. chocoate chips
1 1/2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt

  1. Prep: Spray a 9×13-inch pan with cooking spray (with flour if you have it). Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter.
  2. On a cookie sheet, toast the pecan pieces for about 15 minutes. Transfer pecans to a cutting board to cool, and carefully toast the coconut on the same cookie sheet. The coconut should take just about 5 minutes.
  3. In a big bowl, mix together the melted butter and sugar. Add the eggs and vanilla.
  4. Add the flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix the dry ingredients together (on top of the wet ingredients), and then gently mix into the wet ingredients.
  5. Gently stir in the chocolate chips, coconut, and pecans.
  6. Pour into the pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown. Don’t worry about overbaking. Cool and cut into squares.
2 responses to “Best blondies ever

  1. Hey those look great, I’ll try them. Yes, that’s what I need. a plate of blondies in my apt…

    Also good idea about a moveon party.

  2. Thank you so much! I have been looking for a truly awesome blondie recipe. You made my day.

Leave a Reply

