Stop it! Stop it!

Driving home tonight from my volunteer job where I, amongst other things, teach kids about non-violence, I found myself shouting at my radio, “Stop it! Stop it!”

The 9:00 world news had just started, and they were leading with the news that Israel had started bombing Lebanon again. Up till tonight, I hadn’t really felt much emotion about that insanity, even though one of my friend’s family is there, and I had been hearing about it on the news for weeks.

Earlier this evening, I told one little boy, Rabah, about how we don’t make guns out of things and that we don’t shoot people. I also told another boy, Justin, to put his gun away and that it wasn’t allowed. Hearing on the news that men were using weapons and violence against one another after I had just talked to little boys about how we don’t do that made me so angry that I started shouting. I was suprised at my own emotion and at the tears forming in my eyes. I felt so out of control. I can make little boys in my community put their guns down, but I can’t make men half way around the world do the same. Stop it! Just stop!

A song came to mind then. A song from the only part of church that I liked as a kid: the Peace Song. It took on more meaning for me tonight. I realized just how important my belief in non-violence is to me. “I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something.” (Hellen Keller) And tonight I told two boys to put their guns away.

The Peace Song

Let there be peace on Earth, and let it begin with me
Let there be peace on Earth, the peace that was meant to be
With God as creator, family all are we
Let us walk with each other, in perfect harmony

Let peace begin with me, let this be the moment now
With every breath I take, let this be my joyous vow:
To take each moment and live each moment in peace eternally
Let there be peace on Earth, and let it begin with me

One response to “Stop it! Stop it!

  1. “I can’t make men half way around the world do the same” but your blog always inspire few to spread peace song in other parts of world.

Leave a Reply

