Life after WordCamp

Lots of metablogging going on here lately, and so for those of you regular readers who don’t blog and don’t care about things like blogging software conferences, my regular posts about what I cook and where I drink are coming back. WordCamp coverage and rehashing could go on forever, but I think it is time to move on, at least on this little blog here.

And now for something completely different. In other words, back to me:

I am an aerobics instructor! Those are words I never thought I’d write. Tonight was my first time in front of the class. I am still not ready to teach my own class yet, but I am getting close. I led the warm-up and then the regular instructor took over for the rest of the class. I had practiced so much in an empty room that it really didn’t freak me out too much to do it with people behind me. The big boss was there hiding in the back, and afterwards told me that I did great and she wants to see more in two weeks. It feels good to be making progress.

So my priorities for the next few weeks are:

  • Practicing choreography and putting together my own combinations for the step classes.
  • Practicing piano, even if it is just a few minutes, every day. I was playing a lot for a while, but then I started slipping. My ambitious project: Rachmaninoff Prelude Op. 23, No. 5.
  • Working, like at that real job I have. My manager gave me the “we need you to be a hero” speech today, so if I am going to pull this new project back from the brink, I must spend some time on it.
  • Playing golf. Now that I have my first game under my belt, I need to keep at it at least once a week.

Life continues to be amazingly fun, thanks to all of the awesome people I keep meeting at every turn. I think I’ll keep turning!

Leave a Reply

