Weekend roundup

I think I am overcommitted. I think that is because I am overly optimistic and overly confident in my abilities to get everything done. I somehow think that I can get hours of work done, run errands, go to the gym, clean the house, and get some writing in all in a single afternoon, and on only a few hours of sleep. Yeah, not so much. It is starting to catch up with me.

But that being said, I had a great weekend and wouldn’t have skipped out on anything. I just don’t have time for my job or housework. Friday night I went to the 49ers opening game, thanks to free tickets from Kathy. It ended up being a really late night for me, so I went to a three-year-old’s birthday party with only three hours of sleep. It was great seeing everyone there, and I was still feeling pretty good in the morning. Then I had to drive to Sacramento.

The drive to my brother and sister-in-law’s new house for their big anniverary party should have taken only a few hours. Except that I got lost. I never get lost. Put me in any city and I will find my way no problem. But put me in the country along a winding river, and I get so disoriented (at least when sleep-deprived) that I can’t even tell which way is north. So sad. So I show up to the party a few hours late, and completely tired. I am finally able to go to bed around midnight, but since I am sleeping in the living room, I am awake bright and early with children running around.

Heading back to San Jose, I was so tired I could barely keep my eyes open. When I get home, I crash on the couch for a while, and eventually shower and do some errands. After I eat and do some cleaning, the weekend is over and I have gotten no work done and no writing done. I also don’t make it to the gym.

Time to get some focus back in my life.

One response to “Weekend roundup

  1. Yet I do think you found time to add me to your dodgeball flist. Thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

