I cook the most random things…

…like what I made tonight. I went to the store twice to buy things (including the missing 9×13 pan) that I forgot for the Blondies I promised to bring to the guys at work tomorrow. Then I realized that I needed something to eat other than the yam I microwaved when I got home from the gym. So this is what I came up with, given the random stuff I had in my fridge:

Tofu and cauliflower with curry peanut sauce

  • 3 oz. high-protein firm tofu (from TJ’s. love it!)
  • 1 head cauliflower, cut into flowerettes
  • 1 t. oil
  • 1 t. fish sauce
  • 1/2 t. green curry paste
  • 2 T chunky peanut butter
  • 1 T soy milk
  1. Slice tofu int 1/4″ slices, sprinkle with salt, and brown on both sides in non-stick pan with oil over medium high heat. Drain tofu on paper towels.
  2. Add cauliflower to empty pan and brown slightly. Add fish sauce and a few tablespoons of water, cover, and cook until cauliflower is tender.
  3. Mix together soy milk, curry, and peanut butter (microwave to soften PB if necessary). Return tofu to pan with caulifolower and add curry sauce. Add a few tablespoons of water if necessary, cover, and cook for a few minutes. Serves 1.

It’s pretty good, I must say. I am munching on it as I type. At first, I wasn’t sure, but it is growing on me, and tastes even better as it cools a bit.

It is much better than the creation from last night that started ok: tofu and farmer’s market veggies (onion, sweet red peppers, and summer squash). I added honey based on a recipe, and then it went downhill when I added lime juice, paprika, red chili powder, and finally way too much tumeric. They can’t all be winners.

(I just checked the blondies, by the way, and they are way overcooked after only 40 minutes! I am so upset. I think it must be the fancy New Zealand butter that I bought at Milk Pail.)

Leave a Reply

