Getting better

San jose by AdobeLike blogging more often, I am trying go to the gym more often as well. So am doing both today.

This morning started off not so healthy with both a bagel and a croissant from Tartine, after a cappuccino from Blue Bottle of course. Yes, I ended up spending the night in the city after all last night, even though I didn’t pack or anything. But I am a spontaneous girl. What can I say? Oh, but my point is, I can’t resist pastries and coffee when I am in the city, and so my day did not start out so healthy.

It took me over three hours to get home from Normen’s place in Hayes Valley this afternoon. You’d think that would be awful, but it was really quite nice. I took two buses to Caltrain to a walk to downtown SJ to lightrail to a walk home. The day was cold but sunny, and so the views were nice. I had lots of time to listen to music and read. I did a fair amount of walking in the brisk air, and I even stumbled upon a pretty part of downtown San Jose that I had never seen before. Really, it’s not a bad way to spend an afternoon.

I went to the gym, and did the elliptical for an hour. It felt so good. I remember when I first started, I could barely stand it for 20 minutes. I worked my way up to an hour, but it was always tough getting through it, and wished that the time would go by faster. Now I really enjoy the workout and I don’t wish that it was over. I remember at the 45 minute mark, looking at the timer and thinking, “Oh, good. I still have 15 minutes.” And then I thought, “I can’t believe I just thought that.”

So I am getting better about working out. And here I am blogging, so getting better about that. And last night, I slept really well even on an air mattress on the floor, so I am getting better about that too. All of these things are helping me feel more back to my normal self.

Last night, I finally made it out with friends in the city after flaking earlier in the week. We bar hopped and then ended up at The Cellar where we danced to 80s music. Again, dancing felt so good after not doing it for so long.

Time to wrap this up as I need to get ready for a party back in San Francisco tonight.  Yes, I need to move to the city, but that is a topic for another post.

Leave a Reply

