It’s all in the timing

My life has been a bit hectic the past few weeks. But I have been really surprised by the timing of it all. Seems like everyone has this sense of when I am too busy or preoccupied and so left me alone. Then, as soon as I have a chance to breathe, the phone rings.

For example, I had a rare free night, and a friend asks me if I want to go to dinner. Then later in the week, I get home from my very first ballet lesson (in 20 years), take a shower, get settled in, and it wasn’t until then that my phone rings, and I launch into a very emotional conversation. The next day, my dad seemed to know just when my files were all checked in at work for a big deadline, and then calls me to tell me some important news.

I went to a movie on Valentine’s Day with some friends and new acquaintances, and looking around at all of the couples with flowers, I felt absolutely no envy. I’ve never been into Valentine’s Day, but there was a time when I wished that I was one of those people walking down the street holding hands going somewhere romantic. Instead, I was very happy that I was out with a fun group of people and that I didn’t have to worry about relationship stuff. It was much more fun to instead gossip about past relationships and other people. Again, good timing because since I was single, I was able to go out with friends and have a good time. If I’d still been in a relationship, I’d probably be home whining about how stupid Valentine’s Day is.

This weekend I am back in San Jose doing exciting things like getting my hair cut and feeding the cats. I am also nursing a sore throat, so my voice is a little lower than usual (I was having fun singing in the shower with my altered voice). I am determined to get myself back to 100% healthy for the first time in weeks. (I’ll spare you the details, but there’s been one annoying thing wrong with me after another for the past few weeks.) So once again, good timing that I have Monday off.

One response to “It’s all in the timing

Leave a Reply

