Credit card debt free!

I bought a condo in September of 2005. In February of 2006, I realized that I had a credit card statement that I couldn’t pay in full for the first time since moving to California in 2001. Having your monthly housing payment go up a grand hurts. Over the past year, I have been trying to be a little careful with how I spend my money in that every once in a while, I have decided that I really didn’t need to spend $30 on a new shirt. Also, a few raises have helped.

So tonight, for the first time in over a year, I clicked “pay balance” on my credit card bill. Hooray!  I am officially not paying credit card interest. It took me just over a year, but they say that the first year of home ownership is the hardest. It feels quite nice to be out of the hole, I must say.  Only five more car payments, and I’ll own my car 100% too! Then I’ll be left with just a mortgage and a tiny student loan, and those are the good debts, right?

I want to stay in a good mood, so I am not going to look at the balance of my savings account just yet…

5 responses to “Credit card debt free!

  1. Congratulations! I work with people to help eliminate their credit card debt, and you’d be surprised how many people don’t realize how much debt they have.

  2. congrats, Lauren! I pay off my car soon too… er, wait, maybe that will be August 2008? sigh. I think my federal consolidated student loans are almost done with at least!

  3. Weird, I think thats the same day I paid off all my credit card debt too! Congrats, it is a good feeling.

  4. A small amount of credit card debt is ok . But you need to have discipline, and how many of us have that.

  5. That’s a sign of good psychological health also when your finances are in order. It is all about having the proper balance and making the right choices. All my debt is paid off too. Join the happy club.

Leave a Reply

