Three alarms

Nothing like a three-alarm fire two doors down to get your heart going at 5:30AM in the morning. Sirens are pretty unusual on our quiet little Barcelona Avenue here in the  city, so when they stopped right in front of my bedroom window, I knew something serious was going on.

This is what three alarms looks like

This is what three alarms looks like

I threw on my clothes and ran outside (sorry cats), and saw flames shooting out of the building just two buildings over. Embers billowed over my roof as more and more fire trucks showed up. After seeing my neighbor from the same building run out with his cats and his computers, Javier and I ran back inside and forced the cats from under the bed and into the carriers. By the time I got out, the flames were a little smaller and my nerves started to ease.

We watched as the firemen broke into our nieghbor’s house (left building in picture). They are on vacation and I am hoping that we can help somehow when they get home.

Javier and I, along with his parents who are staying with us, are back inside now drinking tea and watching the local news coverage of the events (I declined to be interviewed on camera, especially since my story isn’t that interesting). But I think Javier’s dad was one of the few to get pictures while the flames were in full force. So here you go…

They weren't on our roof, but they kept an eye on it.

They weren't on our roof, but they kept an eye on it.

Leave a Reply

